Watch Freeks banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
466 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
imported post

For me it was a recent thing. I never knew there was such a large subculture dedicated to just watches! It was when I started learning about the different parts of the watch that I became really interested, and I hope to learn more!

·
Banned
9,128 Posts
imported post

I have always had a love for timepieces since I was a young boy. Every Christmas I would find the coolest watch out there and then ask my parents or Santa for it. My watch collecting started with Casio watches and now 25 years later it consists mostly of automatic/mechanical timepieces. My collection consists of almost every available automatic movement out there. Horology is a field that offers so much to learn. I would say that the movement of a watch is what intrigues me the most. It is always nice to get an awesome movement along with a cool case/dial design.

·
Registered
767 Posts
imported post

Me too- I fell in love w/watches when I was about 5 years old. My grandfather had a pretty impressive collection- he always seemed to have a different watch on everyday. He'd let me hold them- I was usually impressed with the heaviest ones. He had a Wittnauer auto diver that seemed to weigh a ton! He also had a bunch of Accutrons, a Datejust and a handful of Elgin and Hamilton pocket watches, which I was lucky enough to inherit. Every time I hold any one of them (the Wittnauer, in particular), I get taken back to those special times when my Gramp and I would talk watches. God, I miss that man, but my collecting timepieces seems to be a way that I can still feel connected to him. In fact, my father, upon noticing my growing collection, recently told me how much I remind him of his father, right down to his love of timepieces. Needless to say, the resemblence was an honor.

·
Premium Member
25,155 Posts
imported post