Watch Freeks banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
99 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I started making my own straps a few months back after acquiring my first Panerai. Honestly I love the straps and making my own maybe more than the Panerai. Alright that was a lie but it’s a whole lot of fun.
This is my personal stash so far with no slowing down in the future.
Please join me in showing off your strap collection. I have a few more but these are my home made keepers.

IG @dirtysouthstraps

·
Senior Novice
3,186 Posts
Those look great brother. See you added a couple beaver colors after your initial success, well done.
I've been browsing tools for a couple months or so. I'd like to piddle/mod watches, but strap work seems more practical for now, or for the much sooner future. It seems like something I could bounce in and out of when time allows and it's interesting. That's a lot of fine work with some fine hides, I'm partial to the old belt. Which is your personal favorite and is the beaver supple and pliable?

·
99 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Just depends how thick it is. If you thin it out a little is very soft. Thicker will hold its form but is still not very stiff. It’s some nice stuff.

IG @dirtysouthstraps

·
Aspiring Expert
1,882 Posts
I'm not a strap guy myself, I prefer bracelets...

·
Senior Novice
3,186 Posts

I don't have a lot of experience with bracelets, three to be exact. The Juggernaut I have on a bracelet is very comfortable, but the black bay is not, the strap is much more comfortable. This makes me wonder if the Deep Blue would feel even better on a proper strap. Presentation is definitely effected when you swap to a strap, my wife seems to prefer my black bay on the strap I finally tried on it.

I do like the look of this bracelet.

·
2,432 Posts

Like AW, I like this one too. Proprietary Bulova Accutron design. The other two may be technically exclusive too, but they're derivatives of common bracelets.