Watch Freeks banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

Question for you…..

I have a small Omega Speedmaster (I believe it is referred to as a “reduced” model coming in at 39mm).

I purchased it back in 2002 on 2003. It sat for many years and I rarely ever wore it.

I’ve recently taken to wearing it again.

It has never been serviced.

I’ve asked two people in the business whether or not it is worth having it serviced. Both, independently said, and I am paraphrasing, “Wear it until wheels fall off and then send it in”.

When I have asked watch repair folks, they have said “Send it in.” Cost would be between $500 and $700.

It runs and keeps time very well as great as I can tell.

I believe that secondary market value is perhaps $2500 and I have no intention of selling it.

Thoughts are appreciated.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

·
13,679 Posts
A watch will tell you when it’s time for a trip to the watch doctor ( when it stops working or starts keeping time erratically).

If it ain’t broke….don’t fix it

·
Super Moderator
4,998 Posts
While one option may be to wear a watch until it starts showing signs of needing attention, the other is one of preventative maintenance and to have it serviced at least every 5-10 years.
Putting it on a timegraph is one way of checking on a watch's "health".

Would you run a car/motorcycle without maintenance until it shows signs of not running well?

·
Registered
Omega Day Date, Raymond Weil(s), Seiko(s) and micro brands.
109 Posts
Hello,

Question for you…..

I have a small Omega Speedmaster (I believe it is referred to as a “reduced” model coming in at 39mm).

I purchased it back in 2002 on 2003. It sat for many years and I rarely ever wore it.

I’ve asked two people in the business whether or not it is worth having it serviced. Both, independently said, and I am paraphrasing, “Wear it until wheels fall off and then send it in”.