Watch Freeks banner

1 - 20 of 64 Posts

·
Super Moderator
9,401 Posts
Eric, that is extraordinary, and she looks brand new honestly ! :smile-thumb:

It’s one breathtaking guitar, as well as a piece of art work actually.
Thanks for not only the ultra cool pic, but for the thread !!! :rockon:

·
Registered
1,129 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Here's an old favorite, a Kay thinline from 1960. It's a great player unlike some vintage Kay guitars, just check out that fingerboard wear:

·
Registered
3,979 Posts
enricosonic:
Ain't there any acoustic axe owner on the forum?

I'm no photo bug, so no pics. Sorry

I've been playing guitar and bass for 70+ years

Right now I own a 1968 (bought in 69) Martin D35.
Paid $550.00 for it in 69. Now who knows the price.

Own an Epiphone AJ45S (a knockoff of Gibson's J45)

Only lectric axe I owned was a 66 Epi 440 solid body.

Also play a Kay Marquis 5/8ths size upright bass in the
bluegrass genre

Lou Snutt

·
Registered
1,129 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Ain't there any acoustic axe owner on the forum?
More to come but here are a couple of vintage Yamahas here in the house. A 1969 FG-300, bears a little resemblance to the Gibson Hummingbird, but has an odd tune-o-matic style bridge. This is the way they came.

And my first ever guitar purchase, a 1970 FG-230, bought used in 1983. I thought I was being clever in getting a 12 string, you know, just take off the other 6 strings and you have two guitars in one! Not exactly of course:

These are when Yamaha really got serious about acoustics, setting their sights on Martin and Gibson. They're a great brand in their own right but'll never command those Martin/Gibson big bucks.

·
Registered
1,129 Posts
Discussion Starter #15
Here's a funky Danelectro 64, which is Danelectro's take on a Mosrite Ventures model, little different body shape, pickups and pickup location, plus a Bigsby trem unit instead of Mosrite's Vibramute.