Watch Freeks banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, so I have been wearing dive watches since I was 16 years old. (Before that, I work a Casio calculator watch for 2 years, but I'll never admit to that) I've never scratched the crystal, ever, and I have always worked hard. So after all these years I discovered the Ecozilla. I consider this watch to be the watch I'll wear the rest of my life. I'm actually buying a spare... but the point of this post is, of course, naturally..... I scratched the damn crystal. :smile-thumb:

Where can I buy a replacement crystal for it, a real sapphire is possible, without spending a lot of money, and what size? I saw a site call Esslinger but there isn't a "Citizen EcoZilla" purchase option.

Thanks for any tips.
Anthony

·
Super Moderator
7,444 Posts
No experience with this, but I saw this listing on eBay:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Sapphirecry...la-BJ8050-08E-or-BJ8040-01E-NEW-/130874069726

I personally would have citizen replace it with an OEM crystal and pressure test it. I would never trust an aftermarket crystal to the specs that Citizen built that watch for.
Also, with as tall as the rotating bezel sits on the Ecozilla, I am amazed you were able to scratch the original crystal.

Here is a pic of my old Eco on mesh just because threads need pics :)

·
Registered
7,651 Posts
I read somewhere, that Citizen will not replace the crystal with sapphire unless that watch actually came with it in the first place. If the model came with mineral, then they won't do it.
Not sure if they changed that policy.

·
Super Moderator
7,444 Posts
I read somewhere, that Citizen will not replace the crystal with sapphire unless that watch actually came with it in the first place. If the model came with mineral, then they won't do it.
Not sure if they changed that policy.