Watch Freeks banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello there good people of the interwebs!
It is I, the lost newbie! And I am looking for guidance!

All jokes aside though! Hi! I'm new here but I hope ya'll can help me out a little!

I am looking for a watch, and I have been looking for this watch for a long time now. The problem is; I don't know which watch it is!:eek:
I'm tired of buying cheap-ish watches hoping that they'll suit me, only to be disappointed time and again. Which is why I am now here, on my bare knees, begging for your wisdom!

I'm a media and communications student, a Rover Scout, an adventurer of sorts, multi-medium artist and all round active guy. Despite this, I am skinny as a twig.

So basically what I am looking for is something that suits everything from class room situations, to swimming in a mountain lake, to going out to the pub after a long week; a tough watch, with a stylish (relatively clean) look, that's not too big or heavy.

I'd say my price range would be between FREE and 550, mayyybbbbbeeee 600~.

Thank you for your time, ideas and thought power! I appreciate it :smile-thumb2:

EDIT: I dont mind if you have any automatic suggestions ;D

·
Registered
977 Posts
The Seiko Tuna is a good option if it's not too big.

Since you're even considering swimming I would recommend nothing less than 100 meters. The 100 meters is a hydrostatic rating, and swimming and the like is dynamic (or ram) pressure which .. it gets complicated. 100m minimum. 200 is better.

Do you have a preference for mechanical (auto) or quartz?

I would recommend (in general terms) something like an Orient Mako II
http://www.longislandwatch.com/Orient_AA02002D_Mako_II_Dive_Watch_p/aa02002d.htm

If you want something really different, the Maranez Layani isn't too big and has 300 m WR.I have one and really like it.
http://www.maranez.com/layan.php