Watch Freeks banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
156 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I could use some help ! I have many Deep Blues but I am having a problem with my Searam 500. I think its a Rhonda 715 swiss quartz movement. :confused::confused::confused::confused:

1. When I went to put it on today the seconds hand is freezing and jumping in 4 second intervals. So far after 4 hours the time looks accurate but the seconds hand is acting up. It is a Freeze then 4 second jump.
2. The watch is just over 2 years since i purchased it so even my American Express will not cover repairs.
3. Can this be battery related, I heard the watch had a 10 year lithium battery?? Anybody ever seen this before? I have been collecting for 30+ years and this is new to me!
4. I did not by this watch at the low clearance price I payed $240 so if anyone can give me some info to save me some $$$ I would greatly Appreciate it!!!

·
Registered
179 Posts
Yes, that is the battery life indicator. When the second hand pause and starts moving in 4-seconds intervals, then it is time to change the battery. Your watch will continue to run like this for 1 - 3 weeks before it stops working. If you do have a Swiss Rhonda 715 movement then you have a 60-month (5 year) battery.

But Sea Ram 500 are also made with Swiss Rhonda 515 movement which has a 3 year battery life.

I have never heard of a lithium diving watch battery that will last 10 years. Which would seem odd to me because most makers of Dive watch would want you to replace the gasket on the crystal, crown, and case-back every 3 - 4 years in order to maintain the water resistance rating as it ages. Because temperature, shocks, sudden movement, and chemicals can affect water-resistance.

So, it would make sense to replace the battery at the same time you are having the gaskets replace.

·
Registered
156 Posts
Discussion Starter #3