Watch Freeks banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone. This is my first post on this forum. I'm a mechanical engineer by trade and a longtime member of the watchuseek forum. I've now joined the watchfreeks forum to get a different viewpoint on things. I'm seeking my next watch and I'm looking for a particular set of complications that seems to be hard-to-find in contemporary watch offerings. More on that later, I will make a post describing exactly what that is, but for now it seems my account doesn't have posting privileges in the other forums so I thought I'd open with an introduction post :clapping-hands-abov

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
For anyone wondering what I'm seeking, it's a watch in the $500-$1500 price range that's a worthy upgrade from my Seiko 5.

Something automatic (or, at a pinch, solar, kinetic, spring drive, or otherwise externally powered so the watch isn't at the mercy of battery availability).

Must have metal strap.

I would really appreciate date display.

Power reserve indicator, day/month display, perpetual calendar, stopwatch etc. would be appreciated too.

---

I really like skeleton watches, but I haven't come across one with a date display in this price range. If one exists, please do let me know!

I wouldn't mind settling for an open heart, though the only one with most of these features I've found is the Orient Star RE-AM0004B or RE-AM0005S.

If I'm going for a conventional watch, it should have a lot more of the features listed above. On the WUS forums I got recommended a lot of expensive "swiss made" watches that were plain and basically had less complications than my Seiko 5. I understand the level of finish and workmanship is on a whole other level, hence the price difference, but that's not really the kind of watch I'm going for.