Watch Freeks banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, so I'm supposed to be looking for my son's gift but found this and I'm really intrigued, this might surpass the Cyma. What are your thoughts? Is anyone familiar with this watch?

I can't find an exact match, but I do have the serial number 9385326. That would (based on an online database) put it somewhere between 1899 - 1900. (The watch itself doesn't work...)

Attachments

·
Registered
1,863 Posts
I think it's a really cool total package that you found!

And it would be lots of fun to get the watch working again.

I doubt that it's valuable, if that was part of your thinking.

I had a Waltham pocket watch for a short time that I was infatuated with for its look and its age, but it was only worth at most $50. They're really not a rare item in the watch world, from what I understand.

But then again, I am a true beginner with all of this, so take this all with a huge grain of salt.

Enjoy that watch, and good luck shopping for your son!

·
Senior Freek
1,829 Posts
I concur with Mr. Packer Fan (Boooo! I'm a Lions fan, and I do not say that with much pride). Great whole package. The upside to this on is that parts for a Waltham are easier to come by as there are a quite a lot of them out there to pick up at a low price to get the parts you may need.

·
3,979 Posts
packerfan:
I gather I'm much older'n you.
Fully experienced in owning and carrying pocketwatches.
I agree that Waltham isn't worth a kings ransom.Wore em
while operating freight and passenger trains for 40 years

I sold my 2 Hammy RR grade pocketwatches in 2015.
the 992b brought $600.00.The 950b brought $1,000.00

992b has 21 jewels (minimum standard for RR watches)
950b has 23 jewels and the reason it sold for more geetus.

Lou Snutt

·
3,979 Posts
packerfan:
I might add the price I paid (used) for the Hammy 992b was $65.00
in 1959.

The MSRP for the Hammy 950b was $160.00 in 1960.Kept them even