Watch Freeks banner

picking a chronograph

3K views 37 replies 9 participants last post by  AtomicTom 
#1 ·
while im on a kick of branching out a little from my usual watch fare, i have been thinking about getting a chronograph. An automatic seems a little out of my budget right now (especially after picking up the pair of Steinharts) so i was thinking of going quartz (auto chronos are expensive!) (one day though I WILL own a valjoux 7750 powered chrono!)
ive been looking at a few, but i have no experience with any of them.

Dan Henry (I like the 1964 on a bracelet)
Deep Blue Air Blue navigator. (nice engineer bracelet)
Seagull 1963 (not a quartz, i know....but i still like it)

im sure i have missed quite a few options so im open to suggestions.
definitely should fall under $500.
the air blue and dan henry are under $200, which is nice and the seagull is under $300.

#2 ·
I can only comment on th Dan Henry 1964 as I owned one for a short while. It is a great looking watch the attention to detail is fabulous. I too preferred it on the bracelet but it also looks good on the supplied leather strap. Under the hood is a Seiko VK64 hybrid movement so you have a mechanical action for the chronograph and the accuracy of a quartz.
Also these are numbered limited editions.
It is a very close homage too, this may be a concern for some.
The only reason I sold it was because it looked too small on my 8 inch wrist.
The watch looks heavily based on the Omega below.

Sent from my Moto G (4) using Tapatalk

Reactions: FBPB and WatchMedic
#4 ·
wow. did not know that about the dan henrys...i only recently discovered them while trolling ebay for affordable chronos and a few of them popped up. my wrists are just over 7 inches so i think the 38mm case should be fine.
so far, im somewhat favoring the dan, but the 42mm version of the seagull 1963 is also very tempting.