Watch Freeks

Watch Freeks (https://www.watchfreeks.com/index.php)
-   Strap Review (https://www.watchfreeks.com/122-strap-review/)
-   -   Strap Review: CB Straps - CANVAS (Black) (https://www.watchfreeks.com/122-strap-review/56017-strap-review-cb-straps-canvas-black.html)

UKWolfeman 10-06-2013 05:14 PM

Strap Review: CB Straps - CANVAS (Black)
 
Reviewer: Mike aka UKWolfeman
Strap Reviewed: CB Straps Canvas - Black

Company Info:
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/cb.straps.3

Specifications:
Price: $60 without buckle or $74 with buckle USD

Thoughts and Impressions: As many of you are aware I have owned and reviewed many canvas straps from Diaboliq, Vintager, Maddog, Dangerous 9 and Drew. So when CB released a canvas strap I really wanted to see how it stacks up against the rest. The strap arrived like many straps in a standard bubble envelope. While I appreciate the efforts of many strap makers using pine boxes, leather pouches or other packing material I prefer it simple as there really isn't any need for extravagant packaging for a strap. The strap measures 22/22mm, 130/85mm in length, and over 3.5mm thick. The typical cost is $60 without a buckle and $74 with a buckle (in this case Pre-V).

The strap material is cotton canvas. No glues are used in the canvas so the strap should be waterproof according to CB. The strap is rather stiff and rough to the touch initially which is as expected with a new canvas strap. The canvas does break-in well allowing for more flexibility which increases comfort on the wrist. The break-in also seems to make the strap feel softer as well. The strap edges are finished well with FOLDED EDGES, a HUGE plus, which will prevent fraying which I have experienced with other canvas straps. I personally do not prefer a frayed appearance while I know some do. If that is your preference then this configuration may not be for you. The canvas strap came with two (2) matching keepers one being fixed with the second floating. I'd like to see a fixed leather keeper and floating canvas as standard just to provide a little variance in appearance. The linen stitching incorporated into the strap design is even throughout for the most part and I almost see it as a necessity with a canvas strap. Im not certain a canvas strap with minimal to no stitching would look all that great. Biggest issue with a dark color canvas....lint.....so keep that in mind.

I would place this variation of the CB Canvas in the same style with the Diaboliq Canvas previously reviewed as well as Drew Canvas Straps as they seem to be constructed in a similar fashion with folded edges and no leather backing. Overall, the CB canvas strap is constructed well and is a great value based on the costs of other canvas straps on the market if one can have patience with overseas shipping timeframes.

http://i956.photobucket.com/albums/a...psed5eecdb.jpg

http://i956.photobucket.com/albums/a...pse8a3daac.jpg

http://i956.photobucket.com/albums/a...ps1eb14601.jpg

http://i956.photobucket.com/albums/a...ps743fa227.jpg

http://i956.photobucket.com/albums/a...ps5bc3079e.jpg

http://i956.photobucket.com/albums/a...ps5772d164.jpg

http://i956.photobucket.com/albums/a...ps10d1e1a0.jpg

http://i956.photobucket.com/albums/a...ps03521afd.jpg

http://i956.photobucket.com/albums/a...psdd3c9db4.jpg

http://i956.photobucket.com/albums/a...ps8eb6c3bc.jpg

http://i956.photobucket.com/albums/a...ps5da62def.jpg

UKWolfeman 10-18-2013 02:18 PM

Reserved

Abdullah 10-18-2013 02:31 PM

Great review. Nice strap. How does it act in water, does absorb to much watch or little and does its shape remain the same or gets loosened up after exposure to water?

Tattoo Chef 10-18-2013 09:55 PM

Nice review as always, but the strap is just not for me. It kinda has a looser quilted look to it, as opposed to a tightly knit canvas.

UKWolfeman 10-18-2013 11:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Abdullah (Post 642081)
Great review. Nice strap. How does it act in water, does absorb to much watch or little and does its shape remain the same or gets loosened up after exposure to water?


CB doesn't advertise that they are water resistant so I won't even begin to test it in water.

The Diaboliq canvas that I reviewed recently is water resistant and has a much different feel than the CB. The CB feels more like a Drew Canvas or Vintager (Micah) canvas so not certain it would do well in the water.

tatsnguns 10-18-2013 11:22 PM

Price wise its good. I like those sail cloth versions as well. Not sure who makes them.

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk

kunisman 10-19-2013 01:31 PM

Great review...Id already seen these straps on CBs FB before so Im happy to have some reference to support my buy (or not ;) )....Thanks
(would like to know also, how it behaves with water)

UKWolfeman 10-20-2013 12:07 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kunisman (Post 644257)
Great review...Id already seen these straps on CBs FB before so Im happy to have some reference to support my buy (or not ;) )....Thanks
(would like to know also, how it behaves with water)

I'll make a call and see what CB has to say but have a feeling water may not suit this one extremely well. If I get an answer I will let everyone know. Still a solid canvas regardless.

Tattoo Chef 10-20-2013 12:16 AM

Usually only a waxed canvas would be water resistant.
Personally if you want a water resistant strap, canvas for for the most part is not the way to go.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

UKWolfeman 10-21-2013 11:33 AM

Ok according to CB the canvas is cotton and he doesn't use any glue or glued leather. He stated that he has used them in water without incident. With that being I may give it a test at some point.

Tattoo Chef 10-22-2013 08:56 PM

I just paid attention to the price........thats a great price for this strap. Most of these custom straps start at $90 or more, especially some canvas ones from certain makers. So this would be a nice canvas on a budget, especially if you have some buckles laying around like most of us do and dont need to order one.

UKWolfeman 10-23-2013 09:15 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tattoo Chef (Post 651921)
I just paid attention to the price........thats a great price for this strap. Most of these custom straps start at $90 or more, especially some canvas ones from certain makers. So this would be a nice canvas on a budget, especially if you have some buckles laying around like most of us do and dont need to order one.

Yep. Might have been the biggest surprise to me. I'm not sure you can get one cheaper as I know Drew, Micah and Rob are all over $100 with the last two pushing $175 plus.

Mesh Guy 10-25-2013 12:26 PM

Very nice looking strap and I like that grey one right there, Mike. Looks excellent on the Prometheus and a nice mod for that piece...real nice.

AtomicTom 10-25-2013 12:58 PM

Outstanding review Mike ! :smile-thumb2:

So cool hearing about this one. Think it's really something how the canvas straps like this have that excellent lived in look that brings added character to whatever watch it is on. It's totally different than when a regular leather, rubber, or even NATO strap is on a watch. Like it a lot! Thank you so much for the review sir.

UKWolfeman 10-29-2013 04:29 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtomicTom (Post 657713)
Outstanding review Mike ! :smile-thumb2:

So cool hearing about this one. Think it's really something how the canvas straps like this have that excellent lived in look that brings added character to whatever watch it is on. It's totally different than when a regular leather, rubber, or even NATO strap is on a watch. Like it a lot! Thank you so much for the review sir.

Enjoy seeing all the new Canvas strap out there. I would like to see this one as well as some others I have reviewed with leather backing just to see how they would then stack up against Vintager, Maddog, Dangerous 9 and the like. As far as the canvas very little difference between brands except for some use vintage material. Let us know if you try one out. Always interested to see what others think as well.

AtomicTom 10-29-2013 09:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by UKWolfeman (Post 666617)
Enjoy seeing all the new Canvas strap out there. I would like to see this one as well as some others I have reviewed with leather backing just to see how they would then stack up against Vintager, Maddog, Dangerous 9 and the like. As far as the canvas very little difference between brands except for some use vintage material. Let us know if you try one out. Always interested to see what others think as well.

Thanks again for the insight Mike ! :smile-thumb2: Will do sir.

attirail-straps 11-19-2013 05:59 PM

I saw that strap in a green canvas on a Bronzo Pam382 last week and it looks awesome !!!
Great strap and great price !

Recoil Rob 02-20-2015 05:03 PM

Anyway to get in touch with CB other than Facebook?

scotty 02-20-2015 07:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tatsnguns (Post 643225)
Price wise its good. I like those sail cloth versions as well. Not sure who makes them.

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk

BRADY

Black_Forest_Atelier 05-07-2015 04:05 AM

Very helpful review, Thanks a lot


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:17 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.