Watch Freeks

Watch Freeks (https://www.watchfreeks.com/index.php)
-   Strap Review (https://www.watchfreeks.com/122-strap-review/)
-   -   Strap Review: Maddog Vintage Canvas Ammo (https://www.watchfreeks.com/122-strap-review/28790-strap-review-maddog-vintage-canvas-ammo.html)

UKWolfeman 08-16-2012 01:59 PM

imported post
 
Reviewer: Mike W (UKWolfeman)
Strap Being Reviewed: Maddog Vintage Canvas Ammo

http://i956.photobucket.com/albums/a...e3b95e597d.jpg

Company Website: http://www.maddog-straps.com/en.html

About/History (from Maddog): We, the team of maddog-straps, are strap makers from Germany and Austria and are specialists in making custom made straps. Baseball straps from orig. vintage baseball gloves from appr. 1950´s. Football straps from orig. vintage football balls. Ammo straps from orig. swiss army leather goods from appr. 1945. Ammo canvas straps form orig. swiss army goods. Exotic straps like shark, stingray, lizard, snakes, crocos and top new genuine elephant hide.

Specifications:

Strap Size - 24/24mm, 135/85
Thickness - Approx 4 - 5mm
Price - $129 - $139 USD without buckle, $238 - $248USD with buckle

Thoughts and impressions: The canvas for this strap was taken from an original swiss army bag. The leather backing is taken from the shoulderstraps of the army bag. This particular bag dates all the way back to 1957 which is maintained in the keeper for the strap which was also taken from the shoulder strap.

The middle leather used in the strap construction is a very fine and smooth Italian calfskin providing a smooth surface. The Canvas Ammo strap is 100% handmade including the stitching by hand. The 24/24mm strap measures 4 - 5mm thick depending on place of measurement and is 135/85 in length. When the strap first arrived it had a stiff feel but worked in very easily and is extremely comfortable to wear. The strap came with 4 sizing holes so at first I was worried I wouldn't have a good fit but all worked out well. When ordering be very specific in regards to how many sizing holes you prefer to avoid a potential issue.

The standard buckle is made from stainless steel 1.4571 with best surface. The buckle is the screw in variety. This particular buckle is the most substantial I have seen measuring in at 5mm thick. I have reviewed many quality straps and I'm not taking anything away from any that I have reviewed, but I want to applaud Maddog for producing one of the highest quality straps to date that I have experienced.

The first (4) four photos below are examples of the military bag and process but not the actual leather and canvas for strap pictured further below which came from a 1957 military bag.

http://i956.photobucket.com/albums/a...A7C3F9DF7B.jpg

http://i956.photobucket.com/albums/a...A7BD4C3C67.jpg

http://i956.photobucket.com/albums/a...CA4239CD-1.jpg

http://i956.photobucket.com/albums/a...A7D0465DF0.jpg

http://i956.photobucket.com/albums/a...349CD8E58A.jpg

http://i956.photobucket.com/albums/a...34B433173E.jpg

http://i956.photobucket.com/albums/a...3382AE1A0D.jpg

http://i956.photobucket.com/albums/a...37F933DD5A.jpg

http://i956.photobucket.com/albums/a...37C7A7F216.jpg

http://i956.photobucket.com/albums/a...33AB04A080.jpg

http://i956.photobucket.com/albums/a...3569D90F59.jpg

http://i956.photobucket.com/albums/a...33FB689189.jpg

http://i956.photobucket.com/albums/a...3860F37216.jpg

http://i956.photobucket.com/albums/a...34F45EF604.jpg

http://i956.photobucket.com/albums/a...3523B861D8.jpg

http://i956.photobucket.com/albums/a...33D5EC0D08.jpg

http://i956.photobucket.com/albums/a...381CC8AB60.jpg

http://i956.photobucket.com/albums/a...33FB689189.jpg

http://i956.photobucket.com/albums/a...331D4F9D09.jpg

http://i956.photobucket.com/albums/a...33146E8FBE.jpg

http://i956.photobucket.com/albums/a...330DC2D90F.jpg

kunisman 09-21-2012 08:19 AM

imported post
 
Best looking canvas strap I´ve seen so far.Thanks for the review...

soberdave09 09-21-2012 12:52 PM

imported post
 
great review & looks killer on the tourby

Mesh Guy 09-21-2012 02:20 PM

imported post
 
Perfect timing on this review, Michael. Ingo is actually making that strap for me today (extra long, of course). Thanks for the super review & pics, too, buddy.

Mesh Guy 09-21-2012 06:36 PM

imported post
 
Here is an update. I received an email from Ingo today that he is working on the strap. He sent me a pic to approve of the materials first. How cool is that!

http://i335.photobucket.com/albums/m...psdc591ca1.jpg

rastafadda1953 09-22-2012 08:46 AM

imported post
 
great review looks great

Mesh Guy 09-22-2012 01:45 PM

imported post
 
Mesh Guy wrote:
Quote:

Here is an update. I received an email from Ingo today that he is working on the strap. He sent me a pic to approve of the materials first. How cool is that!

http://i335.photobucket.com/albums/m...psdc591ca1.jpg
...and today I got this pic along with a note of thanks and its on the way here. Ingo is great!

http://i335.photobucket.com/albums/m...pse5dab43d.jpg

UKWolfeman 09-22-2012 01:52 PM

imported post
 
Enjoy Nate. You will be pleasantly surprised.

Mesh Guy wrote:
Quote:

Mesh Guy wrote:
Quote:

Here is an update. I received an email from Ingo today that he is working on the strap. He sent me a pic to approve of the materials first. How cool is that!

http://i335.photobucket.com/albums/m...psdc591ca1.jpg
...and today I got this pic along with a note of thanks and its on the way here. Ingo is great!

http://i335.photobucket.com/albums/m...pse5dab43d.jpg

Mesh Guy 09-22-2012 02:01 PM

imported post
 
Thanks and same to you. I just saw yours coming from Ingo in your thread, Michael. Looks like the same stitching (and great) too.

Tattoo Chef 09-23-2012 11:05 PM

imported post
 
Amazing looking strap.
Great review Mike.

maddog-straps 09-26-2012 08:03 AM

imported post
 
Hi

many thanks for this perfect review and perfect detailed pics...great.

I am happy and are proud to be a member in this forum.

many thanks for all and have a lot of fun with the strap and buckle.

I wish all best and hope to keep contact also in future.

you know:

and all members will get special group buy discount at moment:

https://www.watchfreeks.com/view_topi...378605#p378605


many thanks for your time
have a nice day
hope to hear from you
yours maddog-straps-team
http://www.maddog-straps.com/


watchdaddy1 09-26-2012 04:20 PM

imported post
 
Ingomar makes some of the best straps around & his exagerated buckles r a must have for a WIS.


Coin,Damaskus & Plain--Well worth the price & his straps are SICK-I own 3 straps from him
http://i878.photobucket.com/albums/a...8/SAM_0322.jpg

maddog-straps 09-26-2012 04:56 PM

imported post
 
Hi

many thanks..

at moment I have in stock 1 buckle 26mm made of gen damascus steel..a realy beauty:

http://i334.photobucket.com/albums/m...spezial-05.jpg

and you know:

and all members will get special group buy discount at moment:

https://www.watchfreeks.com/view_topic.php?id=31519&forum_id=84&jump_to=378605 #p378605


at my website you can find nearly each days news and top new raw materials.. you only have to tell me what you want and I make the strap..


*if you have any questions please mail to me: [email protected]

*you can find a lot of top new raw materials:
http://www.maddog-straps.com/de/material.html



many thanks for your time
have a nice day
hope to hear from you
yours maddog-straps-team
http://www.maddog-straps.com/


watchdaddy1 09-26-2012 05:12 PM

imported post
 
maddog-straps wrote:
Quote:

Hi

many thanks..

at moment I have in stock 1 buckle 26mm made of gen damascus steel..a realy beauty:

http://i334.photobucket.com/albums/m...spezial-05.jpg

and you know:

and all members will get special group buy discount at moment:

https://www.watchfreeks.com/view_topic.php?id=31519&forum_id=84&jump_to=378605 #p378605


at my website you can find nearly each days news and top new raw materials.. you only have to tell me what you want and I make the strap..


*if you have any questions please mail to me: [email protected]

*you can find a lot of top new raw materials:
http://www.maddog-straps.com/de/material.html



many thanks for your time
have a nice day
hope to hear from you
yours maddog-straps-team
http://www.maddog-straps.com/

Hi Ingomar

It's William from Arizona..Man I'm dying for another buckle:lol


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:17 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.